CUA Board members

CUA’s Board is elected by and is accountable to our members. It is responsible for the overall governance and strategic direction of our business. Our Board comprises directors with a diverse range of backgrounds and financial skills.


Nigel Ampherlaw
Chairman and Independent Non-Executive Director

Nigel joined the Board in March 2011 and has been Chairman since 15 November 2017. He is a member of the Board Remuneration and Board Strategy & Innovation Committees.

Nigel has extensive experience in risk management, technology, consulting and auditing for financial services institutions in Australia and the Asia-Pacific region. He is a chartered accountant by profession. He was a Partner of PricewaterhouseCoopers for 22 years where he held a number of leadership positions, including heading the financial services audit, business advisory services and consulting businesses. He also held a number of senior client Lead Partner roles.

Nigel is a Director of the Australian Red Cross Blood Service, and Elanor Investors Group.


Paul Bedbrook
B.Sc., FSIA, F Fin
Independent Non-Executive Director

Paul joined the Board in July 2011. He is Chairman of the Board Remuneration Committee, Chairman of CUA Health Ltd and a member of the CUA Health Board Audit and Risk Committees as well as Chairman of Credicorp Insurance Pty Ltd and a member of the Credicorp Insurance Board Audit and Board Risk Committees.

Paul has over 40 years’ experience in financial services, specifically across the areas of banking, insurance and investment management. He is a former long term senior executive with ING (the Dutch global banking, insurance and investment group) and held CEO positions in ING DIRECT Canada, ING Australia and ING Asia Pacific.

Paul is also Chairman of Zürich Financial Services Australia and Elanor Investors Group. He is also a Director of the National Blood Authority.


Kyle Loades
Independent Non-Executive Director

Kyle joined the CUA Board on 1 December 2017. He is a member of the Board Risk Committee, Board Strategy & Innovation Committee (from 1 August 2018), a Director of CUA Health Ltd and member of the Board Audit and Board Risk Committees as well as a Director of Credicorp Insurance Pty Ltd and a member of the Credicorp Insurance Board Audit and Board Risk Committees.

Kyle is a Chairman, Non-Executive Director and Advisor with more than two decades of experience across the commercial, community and public sectors. He has a particular interest and experience in the transformation of business facing disruption.

Kyle is currently Chair of Drive Yello, Chair of Hunter Medical Research Institute, a Non-Executive Director of the Australian Transformation and Turnaround Association and a Conjoint Professor in the Faculty of Business and Law at University of Newcastle. Recently, Kyle completed a three-and-a-halfyear term as Chairman of the NRMA where he directed a period of significant cultural and operational change requiring considerable strategy and risk expertise.

In an executive capacity he established, grew and managed an independent car broking business that disrupted the motor vehicle retail industry. The company was purchased by ASX listed A.P Eagers.

Kyle is a Fellow of the AICD and AUSTTA, has completed an MBA at University of Newcastle, a Harvard Business School Certificate in Disruptive Strategy and a Transformation Leadership Program at ANU.


Louise McCann
Independent Non-Executive Director

Louise joined the Board in November 2015 and is Chairman of the Board Strategy & Innovation Committee and a member of the Board Remuneration Committee.

Louise has a diverse portfolio including technology, media, health, education, personal transport, accounting and professional services. Louise’s executive career was as a CEO and senior executive in the media, commercial market research, brand and communications sectors in Australia, New Zealand and across Asia. From April 2011 until August 2015 Louise was a Non-Executive Director with iiNet Limited and Chaired the Remuneration and Nominations Committee. iiNet was sold to TPG to form Australia’s second largest telecommunications company in August 2015.

Louise’s current Non-Executive Director portfolio comprises, Macquarie Media Network, Grant Thornton Australia Limited, University of Notre Dame and Cabcharge Australia Ltd.


Deborah O'Toole
Independent Non-Executive Director

Deb joined the Board in March 2014. She is Chairman of the Board Risk Committee and a member of the Board Audit Committee.

Deb is a qualified lawyer and has more than 30 years’ experience in mining, resources and rail freight industries, 25 of which have been focused in the finance function including as CFO at Aurizon, Queensland Cotton and MIM Holdings. She served as Chairman of the Audit Committee for CSIRO and the Norfolk Group and also on Boards of the MIM Group and the QR National/Aurizon Group. In 2013 she served as an Advisory Board Member at Pacific Aluminium. Deb was also a member of the former Workers’ Compensation Board of Queensland and a former member of the Queensland Country Health Society.

Deb is a Director of the Wesley Research Institute, Sims Metal Management Limited, Asciano Group and Alumina Limited. She was recently appointed to the NSW Treasury Audit and Risk Committee and is also a member of the Queensland University of Technology Banking & Finance School Advisory Board.


Wayne Stevenson
B. Com., CA, FAICD
Independent Non-Executive Director

Wayne joined the Board in February 2014. He is Chairman of the Board Audit Committee and a member of the Board Risk Committee.

Wayne’s executive background was largely in banking and financial services with ANZ where he held several senior positions across Australia, New Zealand and Asia. Wayne brings strong expertise of the financial services industry including 15 years in CFO roles at ANZ involving a broad range of disciplines including the undertaking of significant acquisitions, restructures and divestments. His roles included Group General Manager, Group Strategy, and prior to that held the role of CFO Asia Pacific, Europe and America.

More recently Wayne has developed a career as a professional Director. He is Chairman of QMS Media Ltd and independent Non-Executive Director of BigTinCan Holdings Ltd – both ASX listed. He is also an independent Non-Executive Director of Onepath Life Insurance Ltd, Onepath General Insurance Ltd, and ANZ Lenders Mortgage Insurance Ltd.


Andrew Reeves
BA (Economics), AMP
Independent Non-Executive Director

Andrew joined the CUA Board on 1 September 2017 and is a member of the Board Audit and Board Risk Committees.

Andrew is an experienced consumer goods executive who has 40 years’ experience with major Australian consumer brands. His career included a variety of marketing and product development roles, before moving into a variety of managing director and CEO roles over the past 20 years.

Andrew took on his first Managing Director role at The Smith’s Snackfood Company in 1993. He subsequently held Managing Director roles with Coca-Cola Amatil and Lion Nathan’s Australian brewing business and dairy and drinks business. Most recently, Andrew was the CEO of George Weston Foods for six years.

Andrew is also currently the independent Chairman of The Healthy Grain Pty Ltd and Netget Limited and a Non-Executive Director on the Board of not-for-profit organisation Oz Harvest.